People Watch

I decided to go and people watch
from the glory of a coffee shop
My cat tried to convince me to stay
as he rubbed my foot upon his face

I went out this morning to people watch
I didn’t know they’d be so young
Every other table in this coffee shop
Has at least one little one

All of them are one or two
And just an hour later
Comes a wave of the slightly older
nap times, call the waiter

A mother holds up a book for her little one
Subdues her so they can eat
The one childless couple about my age
Has amazing fashion taste

All of the children beg for books
The parents read alound
I hope these are habits all children keep
As into the world they bound

The servers perfect the art of doging
children on the floor
One thing is clear in this crazy zoo
Parents are not the ones in charge

Leave a comment